‘Suicide Squad’ Soundtrack debuts at No.1 album on Billboard

The No. 1 movie at the box office has yielded the No. 1 album on the music charts. The soundtrack for Warner Bros.’ latest DC Comics adaptation, “Suicide Squad,” blasted its way to the top of the Billboard 200 list with 182,000 sales during the week ended Aug. 11. The bulk of the sales came from 128,000 in traditional album sales, while it racked up 32.6 million streams. (According to Nielsen Music, 1,500 streams of an album’s tracks, or 10 individual-song purchases, equal an album sale.)

The soundtrack has been one of the biggest selling points in the raucous marketing campaign for “Suicide Squad,” which stars Will Smith and Margot Robbie, among others, as a group of supervillains roped into doing a dangerous mission for the U.S. government. The film has made over $200 million in North America after more than a week in release.

The movie is saturated with a rock-rap-pop mix of well-known tunes, such as Grace‘s “You Don’t Own Me” (featuring G-Eazy), Creedence Clearwater Revival‘s “Fortunate Son” and Eminem‘s “Without Me,” as well as new tracks from Twenty One Pilots (the single “Heathens“) and Skrillex and Rick Ross (“Purple Lamborghini“). Panic! At the Disco‘s cover of Queen‘s “Bohemian Rhapsody” is included on the soundtrack album.

Drake‘s “Views,” meanwhile, held steady at No. 2 with 73,000 sales. Streaming numbers continued to be the story for the Canadian rapper’s latest album, which racked up another 74 million in streams. That figure is down from 78 million in the previous week, but still more than double the “Suicide Squad” soundtrack’s streaming total.

Christian rock band Skillet‘s “Unleashed” debuted in third, followed in fourth by country artist Blake Shelton‘s “If I’m Honest,” which shot up from ninth place last week. Compilation “Now 59” debuted in the fifth spot, with all of its 48,000 sales coming from traditional album sales.

Twenty One Pilots’ “Blurryface,” meanwhile, slipped to sixth from third a week earlier, and DJ Khaled, last week’s No. 1, fell to seventh place. Debuting at No. 8 was DJ Snake‘s “Encore.” Chart stalwarts “Anti” by Rihanna and “25” by Adele rounded out the top 10, coming in ninth and 10th, respectively.

Suicide Squad: The Album – Tracklist
1. Purple Lamborghini – Skrillex & Rick Ross
2. Sucker For Pain – Lil Wayne, Wiz Khalifa & Imagine Dragons (with Logic, Ty Dolla $ign & X Ambassadors)
3. Heathens – twenty one pilots
4. Standing In The Rain – Action Bronson & Dan Auerbach (of The Black Keys) (feat. Mark Ronson)
5. Gangsta – Kehlani
6. Know Better – Kevin Gates
7. You Don’t Own Me – Grace (feat. G-Eazy)
8. Without Me – Eminem
9. Wreak Havoc – Skylar Grey
10. Medieval Warfare – Grimes
11. Bohemian Rhapsody – Panic! At The Disco
12. Slippin’ Into Darkness – War
13. Fortunate Son – Creedence Clearwater Revival
14. I Started a Joke – ConfidentialMX (feat. Becky Hanson)

Categories:   Charts